Mashup at the VAG for seniors – by donation on first Mondays

Here’s a tip for those of you over 65. The Vancouver Art Gallery is offering seniors the special opportunity to visit “by donation” on the first Monday of each month. 10 am to 1 pm. I’ve now been to MashUp five times. The member newsletter recommends going multiple times, but I may not have a lot more visits in me. They also recommend starting from floor 1 and working your way up – which is in reverse chronological order.  Me, I’m a 4th floor kind of gal.MONDAYS:  April 4 | May 2 | June 6

On the other hand, if you go frequently and enjoy the  guided tours on Thursdays, Saturdays and Sundays, here’s another tip. I did the math for you. Seniors can purchase a one-year membership for $55. All memberships come with two free passes to bring a friend (of any age). Since the regular price for a one-day visit is $18 for seniors and $24 for adults, if you were to come just once with two friends, the total value would be $66. You’ve already saved $11 and you can visit any time over the remaining 350 days or so.  As a member you also get to bring a guest to opening nights. Make yourself popular.

The other thing I learned recently is for persons with disabilities (of whatever age) their membership comes with an additional membership card for a caregiver  I went to the opening with my friend, Keiko Honda, who is in a wheel chair and I certainly learned that this would be a welcome and needed benefit.  As we were trying to leave (exhausted), I realized in a busy room people standing simply don’t see someone in a wheelchair. Just at the moment Keiko asked her 11-year-old daughter to walk in front of her, it had finally dawned on me that without someone “blocking” for her, it would be very slow and very frustrating. At times such as when we were getting into the elevator, the other visitors were very respectful and polite.

I got a few other insights into some of the accessibility issues. Some display cases are difficult or impossible to view the contents from chair-height. They’re designed to be looked at from above. Keiko very graciously said, “Yes, I do get a different perspective.” Also, while I can understand that they want people to use the stairs and escalators if possible, if I wasn’t already familiar with how to find the elevator, it would have been difficult to find.

The show is interesting, more about that later. I’ve been five times now. Membership has its benefits. Another member and I have dropped in for less than an hour when we’re downtown for other reasons.

