I must make a list of my favorite men of 2015… Nenshi, Justin and the Pope for starters

December is always a reflective time for me. I’m an inveterate maker of resolutions and I enjoy the rhythm of the holiday season from celebrating, preparing for celebrations and just pondering on my own the meaning of (my) life. I live alone and have lots of family and friends.

As I was “liking” and “sharing” this morning on facebook, I started thinking of all the prophetic and just genuinely nice and smart men I have been liking this year.

On Sunday I listened to the CBC’s Sunday Edition and “met” another smart and nice man:

Meet the Canadian who wrote Pope Francis’s climate change letter: The Paris summit will go ahead, despite increased security in the wake of the attacks. Michael talks to Jesuit scholar Michael Czerny about how the Pope’s moral urgency on climate change and the need to move away from consumerism, are both firmly rooted in theology.

He sounds a little like one of my other favorite men, Gil Fronsdal, whose audiodharma Buddhist podcasts often calm and inspire me.

And all of those men I’m related to by blood or affiliation–you know who you are–it’s a pleasure!

