Monday October 19 12 noon – I’m preparing for the next 12 hours

It’s twelve noon October 19, 2015. My friends and I are full of anxiety. In recent days we have allowed ourselves to consider it could be a Conservative (minortiy we assume) government on October 20th.

Various friends are working in the election either as paid employees or unpaid scrutineers. They will go to a party with their colleagues tonight and I and a few people will eat, drink and watch at the Wolf & Hound pub tonight.

I heard recently that “worry does not equal preparation”. I am now preparing myself for the next 24 hours.

Tonight when I return after beering and possibly cheering, I will sit in front of a small Buddha statue, light incense and do a loving kindness meditation ritual

May all beings be safe from danger.

May all beings have physical happiness.

May all beings have mental happiness.

May all beings live each day in peace.

I will start with me: May I be safe, happy and at peace.

Then I will focus on my friends. May they all be safe from danger.

Even if or especially if a Conservative government with Harperman at the helm wins, may we all be safe from danger. May Shane Koyczan and Rick Mercer be safe from danger. May they have mental happiness and live each day in peace.

Let Hurricane Hazel at 94 be my inspiration in achieving mental happiness and keeping fear at bay.  “Do I look scared to you, Steven?” she asks.

May we live in peace.

May Steven Harper have mental happiness.

May new Canadian citizen and first-time voter, Zunera Ishaq  live in peace.

May the servers at the Wolf and Hound, be safe from danger as they bring beer to us. Does Extra Old Stock still exist? But we are Craft brewery people, not old stock.

May our servers have happiness – and large tips.

This morning a friend’s father was taken to hospital having trouble breathing and finding himself confused.

He managed to whisper, “I’m incoherent.”

“No you’re not. I can hear you fine.” was the initial response, but then 911 was called and he was taken to the hospital.

My friend and her daughter, a first-time voter, are heading out to vote this afternoon.

May my friend, her daughter, her daughter’s grandfather all be safe from danger.

And her grandmother as well. And the paramedics and doctors and nurses.

May they all be well.

My favorite Buddhist podcaster, Gil tells me from Redwood City, California:

Don’t trust your mind. Identify with your breath not your mind.

Mental happiness includes clarity, calmness, equanimity.

One can learn this, Gil—and others—tell me.

We can purify our minds.

What will Scott Andrews, NDP candidate in my riding, do on October 20th?

He just walked by the coffee shop with a group of young people, probably UBC students. When I knocked on the window and gave the thumbs up salute, he ran in to give me a brochure and introduce himself. I told him I heard him talk at the Unitarian Church. I said, “good luck” since it didn’t seem appropriate to chant at him.

May Scott be safe, healthy, happy and at peace.

I didn’t tell him I’d already voted and for the incumbent Liberal candidate. If he wants it I believe he has a future in politics, but tomorrow he won’t have a job as a Member of Parliament. This riding has been held by Liberals since 1984. Joyce Murray will win. I predict. I am happy to not live in a swing riding.

On October 20th, Tom Mulcair, Justin Trudeau and Steven Harper will all go back to work, possibly with new job titles – promoted or demoted as as may be the case.

It was not out of character for the Globe & Mail to endorse the Conservative party, but to endorse the Conservatives minus Harper is quite a statement. So perhaps one of the leaders will decide to leave his job and seek employment elsewhere. May he be safe, healthy, happy and at peace.

On CBC Early Edition this morning, Rick Cluff promised (or warned) that tomorrow morning, we will “hear all about it”. He sounded tired but resigned as he said it.

How will we live without knowing the daily whereabouts of Justin, Steven and Tom?

Justin needs to go to a doctor to look at that sore throat of his. Rest in bed, Justin. Drink plenty of liquids. Don’t talk. Breathe.

Let’s all breathe. That’s all I can offer. Keep on keeping on. I will try to follow my own advice.

 

