Thursday – Fringe Opens

Mary’s First Thursday Fringe Schedule

I am so looking forward to opening of the Fringe Festival. Tied with DOXA – Documentary Film Festival, this is my favorite arts festival of the year. I volunteer for both and pretend I’m out of town on vacation and try to do nothing but attend shows. I probably won’t break my personal best record of 32 shows which I did last year as I have a few times I have to return to normal life, but I’ll do my best.

If you haven’t attended the Fringe, you might be overwhelmed if you pick up the program guide and don’t know where to start.  So I’m posting the shows I’m attending so if friends attend, at the very least we can go to the Fringe Bar afterwards and talk about what we liked–or didn’t.

FRINGE TIP: Safe bets are to go for ones that have won “best of Fringe” at other festivals.

I’ll be writing reviews for Plank Magazine again this year–posting 6 reviews by the end of the first weekend, so you can see what I say by following there or here.

Thursday, 10 Sep, 8:15 pm, Revue Stage, 1601 Johnston St, GI,

Kiss Around Pass Around

Facebook Event: https://www.facebook.com/events/440381032808285/

From the event page:

Kiss Around Pass Around Vancouver Fringe Festival 2015
Fantastical physical comedy by award-winning Japanese artist SHOSHINZ

About the Show
Kiss Around Pass Around is a fantastical solo physical comedy with a stunning sound design by Yanomi.
A mysterious creature is wandering the world looking for its daddy. North, south, east, and west… leaves, wind, water, thunder – for a peculiar traveler, anything can serve as a compass. This unruly innocent creature will sneak in and steal your heart.

Awards
Patron’s Pick & Best International Show -Orlando Fringe 2015
Artists’ Pick -Cincinnati Fringe 2015

Reviews
“Her animation is intoxicating… Kiss Around Pass Around is truly precious.” – Orlando Sentinel
“CRITIC’S PICK … I need to go see this terrific show again.” -City Beat
“The fringe-iest entry of the year. It’s definitely a Fringe experience I’ll remember for years” -Behind the Curtain Cincinnati

SHOSHINZ From: Tokyo, JAPAN
Created & Performed by: Yanomi

 

Fringe Tip: I try to see as much as possible, so I typically pick one show I really want to see and then see how many others I can see on the same day.  So after committing to Kiss Around Pass Around I’m also now going to book for:

Play Venue Area Day Time Length Page
Edgar Allan Revue Stage 05:00 PM 47
Brain Arts Umbrella 06:15 PM 56
Kiss Around Pass Around Revue Stage Granville Island 08:15 PM 46
