Best labyrinth ever – at 49th and Fremlin

Labyrinth20150426 I had a great group working with me to create a labyrinth on the grounds of the Unitarian Church at 49th & Oak – well, the labyrinth is on the Fremlin (east) side of the church.  (Someone asked me if a Fremlin is something like a Goblin. Maybe. Maybe the Fremlin is in the centre of the labyrinth and if you’re very quiet and respectful while walking, he’ll come out to meet you in the centre and share a secret word or two with you.)

Bonus for the church is that we pruned the hedge, which was in desperate need. It was Huguette’s idea to actually stick the branches UCVLabyrinth2015-04-26-26into the ground.  The centre part is made from rhododendron petals that were just at their best-before date.  I’ve used rhodo flowers before. They work well because (a) they’re so beautiful and (b) they’re a little bit sticky, so they don’t fly around in the wind.

It was windy enough on Sunday, that all the little twigs were waving hello-goodbye but staying in theucvLabyrinth2015-04-26-air place. Last time I used that hedge (it’s prolific) I just placed them on the ground and after a windstorm I had quite a cleanup to do.

UCVLabyrinth20150426 (2)People are invited to keep walking it. I’m told two teen boys enjoyed it on Sunday as did Noella and Cohen, as well as an assortment of adults.

You are invited to add to the labyrinth to keep it fresh – bring your cut flowers that are past their prime and add. Bring your pruning shears and cut some of the hedge and twist/push it into place, especially around the outer perimeter.  We’d prefer not to have stones, as eventually the lawn is intended to be mow-able once again. The people who mow however are very grateful – and well, moss, isn’t all that great to mow, and it’s more moss and weeds than grass at this point.UCVLabyrinth20150426 (4)

I actually hope laying on organic material will kill the moss/grass/weeds underneath and that’ll make it easier for us UCVLabyrinth20150426 (6)to dig a little trench and plant bulbs.

Cindy reminded me there are fall crocuses, so that stage may come sooner than I’d thought.

If you have extra bulbs to donate, let me know.

UCVLabyrinth20150426

 

 

 

 

 

Photo credit: Nancy Strider

Please request permission before reposting or copying.

 

