Crocheting with Bindweed

A friend saw one of my posts saying I was crocheting with morning glory and she thought it sounded like fun.

“Are you sure it isn’t knitting?”

“No. definitely crochet.”

“What do you use?”

“My hands,” I said, gesturing turning my index finger into a crochet hook.

So while I figure out how to do a youtube video demonstrating, I’ll just say this. Yes, take all the leaves off – just pulling the vine through your hands (maybe with gardening gloves helps) pulls them off.

I make the crochet stitch really loose so it’s just a big loop – to make a bracelet, hoop, wreath, chain to add to a wreath etc.

I particularly like the really thick stuff – beautiful purple colours – or taking 3 or 4 strands and treating them as one.

It shrinks as it dries, so loose is good.

I have done some little wreaths just forming a circle with strands and then doing clove hitches/crocheting around the outside.

Have fun with it. And let me know how it goes.

 

