Portraits and Memorials – Missing and Murdered Women

As I’m walking in the Women’s Memorial March on Monday, I was following some of the links online and encountered the story of the 69 huge portraits done by Pamela Masik and also installation art of the first names created in evergreen garlands by My Name is Skot.

I found myself trying to imagine what would have a similar feeling to me or other women. Key is the photos were not chosen nor was permission given. The photos from which the portraits are made are not flattering or representative.

How would I feel if a security camera photo taken from my bank, or while shopping or even my driver’s licence photo was used for a portrait where I had no input – and in addition my name was attached to it. Most of us would be shocked to consider that such a thing could happen.

