Befriending Crows

Where I sit to do my work, I have a view of two window boxes. In the summer there are geraniums and basil and now there are… crows.

I was cleaning up my cupboards a week ago and found some nuts that were stale, so I sprinkled some on the window boxes and now I have crow friends.

For their part, they are still quite suspicious. Prefer getting the nuts when I’m not around, but one is now visiting even if I’m here – although looking at me – nervously? with curiosity? judgment?

Because I’m working on a show of mixed-media pieces inspired by ideas of evolution, I decided to google “crows evolution” and learned a lot. Then I came to this blog with a crow piece I like a lot:

http://lovelife.typepad.com/my_weblog/2009/09/counting-crows.html

That took me to the words for the nursery rhyme (originally about magpies, but often used for “counting crows”)

M. A. Denham’s Proverbs and Popular Saying of the Seasons (London, 1846):

One for sorrow,
Two for luck; (or mirth)
Three for a wedding,
Four for death; (or birth)
Five for silver,
Six for gold;
Seven for a secret,
Not to be told;
Eight for heaven,
Nine for [hell]
And ten for the d[evi]l’s own sell!
I recall seeing a mural in Atlantic Canada – St. John’s? Halifax? Anyone know what I mean?
I think the crows want me to paint them. I’ll probably respond.
