WriMo conversations to inspire

I have a friend that I get together most Fridays – usually for breakfast – today we went for lunch. We’ve known each other for, hum,more than 20 years. And during the 8-year dream/nightmare job she got to hear a lot about the joys and challenges of the job.

I asked her today: Did you see an arc in that story?

She at first described a curve from top to bottom to top and then said, “No, it was more like a rollercoaster. I remember the ups when you got staff and then when you had a presence here.” up and down.

My friend is also a manager of a non-profit organization, so was often helpful in a concrete way as well as full of empathy.

I remember my interview for the job and being asked: where do I get emotional support. I smiled and said: I’ve got a wide and supportive network of friends and family. There are literally dozens of people thinking about me right now.

I often remembered that and felt i needed every bit of that support in order to carry on at times.

I think it’s harder to write 50,000 words in a month for an extrovert. I recommend planning conversations – not instead of writing but to supplement, inspire, encourage writing. I am with the people that say: don’t show much to people though. (other than your blog, perhaps.)

230 words – they count!

