Feeling for Thinking Types

In a recent workshop using Step II of the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator (c), one of the participants who scored on the Thinking polarity, asked me, “But how can one learn about Feeling? I took a workshop on Communication Skills where we were supposed to describe feelings. When I said “abandoned”, I was told that wasn’t a feeling.”
As a “T” myself, I related.
Well I have good news for all T’s out there (and in here) who want to learn to identify their emotions with more confidence.
I found a package called “What am I feeling, and What does it mean?” put together by Eve Wood. It comes with 250 magnets of feeling words (including abandoned!), a little magnet board, a CD and two books.
We T’s like precision in language, and sometimes find it challenging to identify the one and only one correct word to identify what we’re feeling. I love the little magnet board and magnets – it allows one to choose 5 or 10 or even 25 words that express what we’re feeling right now – even if some seem contradictory to other ones.

One Comment to “Feeling for Thinking Types”

  1. Just subscribed to your blog today.

    Thanks for this article! Now I know what do I want for my next Birthday 🙂

    Btw. I’ve found that this “free MBTI” test provides very good results > http://kisa.ca/personality/

