Stressful week? why not SCRIBBLE?

Monsters to scribble over or with from The Scribble Book published by The Tate

Monsters to scribble over or with from The Scribble Book published by The Tate

It’s great to do a degree in Art Education: You get to go back and do all the things children do that you might not have enjoyed as much the first time around. I was terribly inhibited about anything other than numbers and letters. My older sisters had “played school” with me, and I’d been an apt learner. But I got used to being at the top of the class, and they hadn’t bothered to do art, music and physical ed with me.

I just bought THE SCRIBBLE BOOK by Herve Tullet.  It was first published in French as A toi de gribouiller! and in 2008 was published in English “by order of the Tate Trustees”. 

Ordering scribble books – I’d love to be on that board of trustees!

It’s lovely, although I admit I don’t want to actually scribble in it. It did lead me to think, though, that after a stressful week, I might like to get out a fresh box of Crayolas and scribble over some of the agendas, memos and reports I’ve worked on that week. 

In my workshop, KindergARTen for ADULTS, we always do scribbling. Like children at early ages, it’s about the sheer pleasure of moving hand and arm and watching marks appear.  Glorious. 

Link to find out more:
http://www.tate.org.uk/publishing/viewProduct.jsp?id=34702
(The web says it’s out of stock, but I bought mine at Kids Books on Broadway in Vancouver.)

